

The Allandale Neighborhood Association P.O. Box 10886 • Austin, TX 78766

May 17, 2018

Mr. Greg Guernsey Director Planning and Development Review 505 Barton Springs Road Austin, Texas 78704

Re: Allandale Neighborhood Association's Recommended Changes to CodeNext Version 3

The Allandale Neighborhood Association (ANA) Executive Committee has now reviewed and provided comments on three versions of CodeNext. We have previously provided recommendations to the Planning Department on April 13 and October 31, 2017. After studying the third version of CodeNext, it is clear that the Planning Department and its CodeNext consultants—once again—ignored most of the ANA recommendations. We urge you to strongly consider the ANA recommendations in response to the third version of CodeNext, detailed in the attached document.

It should be noted that these comments and recommendations do not address the 410-page addendum to CodeNEXT version 3, released on April 20, 2018. Frankly, we find such an extensive revision—released one week before public comment hearings—to be unacceptable and irresponsible. Volunteer neighborhood associations such as ours do not have high-paid professional staff and lobbyists to constantly review the ever-changing, moving target that is CodeNEXT.

I am sad to say that the way in which CodeNEXT has been developed has made me much more distrustful of Austin's city government. I get the distinct impression that city staff and many elected officials have made up their minds as to what is best for all of us and they don't really care what residents think about CodeNEXT. Unfortunately, I feel like this whole process is a sham that has needlessly sucked hundreds of hours from the lives of my neighbors and me.

We are not happy.

Sincerely,

Scott Ehlers, President

Allandale Neighborhood Association

cc:

Mayor Steve Adler Mayor Steve. Adler @austintexas.gov

Mayor Pro Tem Kathie. Tovo@austintexas.gov

Ora.Houston@austintexas.gov

CJ.Hutchins@austintexas.gov

Delia.Garza@austintexas.gov

Katherine.Nicely@austintexas.gov

Sabino.Renteria@austintexas.gov

Ashley.Richardson@austintexas.gov

Greg.Casar@austintexas.gov

Ann.Kitchen@austintexas.gov

Leslie.Pool@austintexas.gov

Ellen.Troxclair@austintexas.gov

Alison.Alter@austintexas.gov

district10@austintexas.gov

Louisa.Brinsmade@austintexas.gov

Zoning and Platting Commission Members

Ann Denkler <u>bc-ann.denkler@austintexas.gov</u>

Yvette Flores bc-yvette.flores@austintexas.gov

Jolene Kiolbassa <u>bc-jolene.kiolbassa@austintexas.gov</u>

Gabriel Rojas <u>bc-gabriel.rojas@austintexas.gov</u>

Ana Aguirre bc-ana.aguirre@austintexas.gov

Dustin Breithaupt bc-dustin.breithaupt@austintexas.gov

Bruce Evans bc-bruce.evans@austintexas.gov

Yvette Flores bc-yvette.flores@austintexas.gov

Betsy Greenberg bc-betsy.greenberg@austintexas.gov

Sunil Lavani bc-Sunil.Lavani@austintexas.gov

James Duncan bc-Jim.Duncan@austintexas.gov

David King BC-David.King@austintexas.gov

Code Advisory Group Members

Christopher Allen BC-Christopher.Allen@austintexas.gov

Steven Zettner zettner@snaustin.org

Jose Valera bc-Jose.Valera@austintexas.gov

Cesar Acosta BC-Cesar. Acosta@austintexas.gov

Melissa Beeler bc-Melissa.Beeler@austintexas.gov

Mandy De Mayo bc-Mandy.DeMayo@austintexas.gov

James Duncan bc-Jim.Duncan@austintexas.gov

Richard Heyman bc-Richard.Heyman@austintexas.gov

Lauren Ice bc-Lauren.Ice@austintexas.gov

Patricia King bc-Patricia.King@austintexas.gov

Eleanor McKinney bc-Eleanor.McKinney@austintexas.gov

Terry Mitchell bc-Terry.Mitchell@austintexas.gov

Susan Moffat <u>BC-Susan.Moffat@austintexas.gov</u>

Elizabeth Mueller bc-Liz.Mueller@austintexas.gov

Eric Schultz BC-Eric.Schultz@austintexas.gov

Dave Sullivan bc-Dave.Sullivan@austintexas.gov

Colby Wallis <u>bc-Colby.Wallis@austintexas.gov</u> Nuria Zaragoza <u>bc-nuria.zaragoza@austintexas.gov</u>

Planning Commission Members

William Burkhardt: bc-William.Burkhardt@austintexas.gov

James Shieh <u>bc-James.Shieh@austintexas.gov</u>
Stephen Oliver <u>bc-Stephen.Oliver@austintexas.gov</u>

Fayez Kazi: bc-Fayez.Kazi@austintexas.gov

Greg Anderson: <u>bc-Greg.Anderson@austintexas.gov</u>
Karen McGraw: <u>bc-Karen.McGraw@austintexas.gov</u>
Tom Nuckols: bc-Tom.Nuckols@austintexas.gov

Angela C. De Hoyos: bc-Angela.DeHoyosHart@austintexas.gov Jeffrey Thompson: bc-Jeffrey.Thompson@austintexas.gov

Trinity White: <u>bc-Trinity.White@austintexas.gov</u>
Nuria Zaragoza: <u>bc-nuria.zaragoza@austintexas.gov</u>

Todd Shaw: bc-todd.shaw@austintexas.gov

Conor Kenny: BC-Conor.Kenny@austintexas.gov Patricia Seeger: bc-Patricia.Seeger@austintexas.gov Ann E. Teich: BC-Ann.Teich@austintexas.gov